Organisational Structure of ALLEA

ALLEA was founded in 1994 and is the Federation of 59 Academies of Sciences and Humanities in more than 40 European countries.

ALLEA Member Academies are self-governing communities of scientists and scholars, and operate as learned societies, think-tanks, grant givers, and research performing organisations.


  • promotes the exchange of information and experiences between Academies;
  • offers European science and society advice from its Member Academies;
  • strives for excellence in science and scholarship, for high ethical standards in the conduct of research, and for independence from political, commercial and ideological interests.


For more information about each group, please visit the relevant subpages