About the Madame de Staël Prize

A New Narrative for Europe

The Madame de Staël Prize relates to the project New Narrative for Europe, initiated by the President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso, which invited artists, intellectuals and scientists to contribute to a reflection on the European story. In 2014, European Commission President José Manuel Barroso handed over the inaugural prize to Professor Luisa Passerini, who was honoured for her research on forms of European identity. The prize forms part of a larger set of ALLEA activities aiming not only to promote the intellectual and cultural richness of Europe, but also to support and acknowledge scholarly contributions that benefit these most valuable of Europe’s assets.


The Prize recognizes researchers or intellectuals whose work represents a significant impact to the advancement of Europe. A laureate’s work is ideally of interdisciplinary nature and exhibits a remarkable and demonstrable contribution to existing and emerging common European values, or the processes behind European integration and identity.

Nominations and Jury

The jury is chaired by the President of ALLEA and composed of renowned fellows of European Academies as well as selected past laureates. It collects nominations, evaluates the merits of the candidates and identifies the prize laureates. The jury is also responsible for selecting a laudator.

Jury Members

  • Antonio Loprieno (chairman), ALLEA – Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
  • Marie-Therese Flanagan, Royal Irish Academy
  • Luisa Passerini, European University Institute, Florence; Laureate 2014
  • Alberto Quadrio-Curzio, Academy of the Lincei, Italy
  • Dame Helen Wallace, British Academy; Laureate 2015
  • Ed Noort, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences