Intellectual Property Rights


Intellectual property rights (IPRs), be it patents or copyrights, play an important role in the academic activities, their outreach towards the public and their services to society. Without the appropriate protection of inventions and creations, incentives for researchers to focus on applied research and for scientific institutions to disseminate innovative ideas and practices could be diminished. Technology and knowledge transfers from academia to other partners are now central in the eco-system comprising research organisations, public institutions and private actors, such as companies and NGOs. To ensure that innovation flourish and be financially supported in a competitive global environment, ALLEA must closely follow the research policies, such as Open Access and Open Science, that rely on an adequate delineation and use of IPRs. Therefore, ALLEA maintains a continuous dialogue with EU policymakers, national and international authorities and other stakeholders to contribute with its expertise to this legal and policy framework in the interest of scientific progress.

ALLEA Permanent Working Group Intellectual Property Rights

The ALLEA Permanent Working Group Intellectual Property Rights, which has been in existence since the 1990s, has prepared and issued reflections, declarations and recommendations on the most challenging topics of IPRs. At present it is developing a horizon-scanning mechanism to identify emerging issues and suggest appropriate solutions.

Central themes of the group include:

  • Access to Scientific Information (Open Access, etc.);
  • The European Commission Initiatives, in particular concerning research and the digital agenda;
  • The unification of patent and copyright laws in Europe;
  • The impact of artificial intelligence and the need to improve data governance;
  • Patenting in stem cell research and other areas of cutting-edge biotechnology.

ALLEA Contact Person

Dr Mathijs Vleugel
Scientific Policy Officer

  • Alain Strowel (Chair) – UCLouvain (Belgium), Saint-Louis University (US)
  • Tanya Aplin – King’s College London, UK
  • Vincenzo Di Cataldo – Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Italy
  • András Holl – Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • P. Bernt Hugenholtz – Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Yuriy Kapitsa – National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine
  • Fatemeh Mohammadipanah – Global Young Academy (Associate Member)
  • Thomas Olechowski – Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Ole-Andreas Rognstad – Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • Neri Salvadori – Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, ALLEA Board
  • Żaneta Zemła-Pacud – Polish Academy of Sciences

Related Publications

Related Events